History of the Minnesota Federation of Music Clubs

Established on April 14, 1921 in Minneapolis


Meetings and Conventions


2012 – Spring All Member State Meeting – Womens Club of Duluth, Duluth, MN – Saturday, April 28

  • Gwen Degner, Itasca Music Club, takes office as the state treasurer
  • $4000.00 unrestricted funds given to the Junior Composers Institute
  • Twenty-nine Festival sites for 2011 Festival
  • International Music Camp Scholarships given to Claudia Finsaas, Deborah Cavenaugh, Joshua Cavenaugh
  • Junior Composers Contest has twenty-four entries; four advanced to National: Joshua Swanson, Elizabeth Ophoven, Evren Ozel, Grant Luhmann.
  • Junior Composers Scholarships awarded to: Grant Luhmann, Abram Atchison, Ariana Bachman, Luke Gion
  • Student Audition Winners: Claudia Finsaas, Alex Blaser, Michelle Bromschwig, David Packa, Spenser Brand, Aria Stiles, Alia Gribbon

2012 – Summer/Fall All Member State Meeting – Chisholm Baptist Church in Chisholm, MN – Thursday, August 9, 2012

  • Discretionary Spending Committee recommendations and approvals:
    • Up to five $500.00 scholarships made available to students demonstrating financial need
    • All Festival Grand Cup recipients receive $500.00 scholarship for future educational needs
    • Raise Gold Cup Chairperson’s stipend from $.20 to $.35 per entrant
    • $3000.00 allocated for modernization of web site
    • $1800.00 for another Half Notes Publication per year
    • Election of Sarah Twedt as MFMC representative to the National Board
    • Special presentation to Nadine Berg for twelve years of service as MFMC state treasurer


History • Previous